Action On Delhi Capitals Over The No-Ball Controversy: Pravin Amre Suspended, Fine For Rishabh Pant And Shardhul Thakur

JeetWin

Delhi captains Rishabh Pant, Shardul Thakur, and Praveen Amre have been hit hard by the no-ball controversy in Friday’s match against Delhi Capitals and Rajasthan Royals. Captain Pant has been fined 100% of the match fee and Shardul Thakur has been fined 50% of the match fee. Along with this Praveen Amre has been banned for one match.

On the other hand, Pant justified his stand. Talking to the broadcaster after the match, Pant said that all the people present in the stadium saw that the third ball was a no-ball. Had he been given a no-ball, the result of the match could have changed. When the umpires were not ready to refer the matter to the third umpire, Pant asked his batsmen to leave the match and come back.

Image Source - Instagram

Pant wanted the ball to be checked by the third umpire.

Pant said- that Rajasthan bowlers were bowling well in our innings. But, Rovman Powell got us back in the match with a six off the first three balls of the last over. The third ball was crucial. Had it been a no-ball, anything could have happened next. We wanted the third umpire to decide after seeing the replays.

Know what was the whole matter

In the last over, Delhi needed 6 sixes in 6 balls to win. Rovman Powell hit three sixes in the first three balls of this over from Obed McCoy. All the controversy happened with the third ball. She was visible above the waist when Powell hit the ball. Thus under the rule, he should have been given a no-ball. The umpire did not do so nor did he refer the matter to the third umpire.

Pant was adamant about recalling his batsmen

Ground umpires Nitin Menon and Nikhil Patwardhan believed that the ball was not a no-ball. Captain Pant and coach Pravin Amre, who were present in the Delhi dugout, believed that the ball was above the waist and should be given a no-ball. Angered by the umpire's decision, Pant asked his batsmen to come back from the ground. The batsmen were also starting to come back. After this coach, Amre went to the umpire, but he was not listened to. They wanted the umpire to at least refer the matter to the third umpire.

Why ground umpires did not go to the third umpire

There is no rule to refer to a no-ball with a height to the third umpire. So the ground umpires did not send the third ball to the third umpire to check. On this, Maxwell also tweeted and wrote – Umpires check no-ball for the front foot on every ball, but cannot check high full toss? I don't understand this