FIFA World Rankings Team of the Year Award List

mob crickex

Men’s FIFA World Ranking is a ranking system for men’s national teams, currently led by the Belgium National Team. Check out the list of FIFA World Ranking Team of the Year awards.

FIFA men’s member nation teams are ranked based on the results of their games. The most successful teams are ranked higher. The rankings were introduced in December 1992 and eight different teams have led the rankings.


A points system is used, with points being awarded based on the results of all FIFA-recognized full international matches. The ranking system has been revamped several times.

He has generally responded to criticism. The previous calculation method did not effectively reflect the relative strengths of the national teams.

It is a complex formula to calculate FIFA rankings. The overall score is based on factors. These are the importance of the party, the strength of the opposition and the confederation.

Currently, the ranking is led by Coca-Cola and the company also sponsors the women's ranking.

Check out the latest version of the ranking system along with the list of winners.

List of FIFA World Ranking Team of the Year awards
List of FIFA World Ranking Team of the Year awards

Latest version of the ranking system

FIFA announced on June 10, 2018 that the rating system would be updated after the 2018 World Cup Final. The calculation method to be adopted will closely follow the model of the Elo Rating System. The rankings of its member associations will be updated on a game-by-game basis.

The weighting assigned to each confederation for ranking purposes will be removed. FIFA had intended to introduce the new qualification system in July 2018. But with no matches scheduled between July and August, the qualification dates were pushed back to August 2018.

Football journalists speculated that this was because projections for the new rankings had seen relatively little change in positions. Germany remained the top ranked team after elimination from the world cup.

Team points are calculated to two decimal points as of April 2023. This is done instead of being rounded to the nearest whole number.

List of winners from 2002 to 2006

Germany debuted as the top-ranked team after their long period of dominance. They had reached all three previous FIFA World Cup finals, winning one of them.

Brazil took the lead in the run-up to the world cup in 1994 after winning eight and losing one of nine qualifying matches.

Italy then led for a short while thanks to their own equally successful World Cup qualifying campaign. Germany regained first place.

France topped the rankings having won both the 1998 World Cup and Euro 2000.

Success at the 2002 World Cup returned Brazil to the top position, where it remained until February 2007, when Italy returned to the top for the first time since 1993 following their 2006 victory in Germany.

List of FIFA World Ranking Team of the Year awards

Teams with the best positions after 2006

Just a month later, Argentina replaced them, reaching the top for the first time, but Italy regained its place in April. Brazil was on top after winning the 2007 Copa América in July. They were replaced by Italy in September and then by Argentina in October.

In July 2008, Spain assumed the lead for the first time, having won Euro 2008. They remained in the position until 2011. The Netherlands also briefly led the Rankings in 2010.

In the summer of 2018, FIFA updated its rating system by adopting the Elo rating system. The first ranking list under this system, in August 2018, saw France retake the top spot for the first time after almost 16 years, having won the world cup.

A month later, for the first time, two teams were joint leaders when Belgium reached the same ranking as France. This lasted only a month, as Belgium regained sole possession of the top spot in September 2018 and, as of November 2023, retains it.

List of FIFA World Ranking Team of the Year awards

Related posts

All India Football Federation: President Praful Patel Removed by Supreme Court

Grga Cockett

Anthony Martial Issues Apology to Fiancee Melanie Da Cruz Through Instagram Amid Cheating Reports

Naomi Tait

Goa vs Kerala Blasters Dream11 Prediction, Head-To-Head, Lineup, Betting Tips, Where To Watch Live Today ISL 2023-22 Match Details – March 6

Grga Cockett

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More