ICC T20 World Cup Winners List 2007 to 2023


ICC Men's T20 World Cup is the international championship of T20 cricket, the game is one of the most popular and famous games, At present, the World Cup consists of 16 teams whereas compromising the top ten teams from the ranking at the given deadline and remaining six teams chosen through T20 World Cup Qualifier. So check out below ICC T20 World Cup Winners List, Runner-ups, and Host 2007 to 2023.

Also See: Indian Cricket Coach Ravi Shastri Net Worth 2023

The event has generally been held every two years, the upcoming tournament was going to take place in 2020 in Australia but due to Covid, the match has been postponed to 2023.

Currently, according to the latest reports, the seventh ICC Men's T20 world cup tournament is going to be held in India for the very first time from October to November 2023. So here is the complete list of ICC t20 world cup winners list Year Wise.

Year Winner runner-up Host Country
2007 India Pakistan south africa
2009 Pakistan Sri Lanka England
2010 England Australia West Indies
2012 West Indies Sri Lanka Sri Lanka
2014 Sri Lanka India Bangladeshi
2016 West Indies England India

In 2007 India won and it was the first name in T20 World Cup Winner List:

India was having a very young squad where MS Dhoni was a captain and whereas Sachin Tendulkar and Sourav Ganguly were on rest. The match was between India and Pakistan where India won by 5 runs and the tournament was held in South Africa.

The teams were divided into 4 groups of 3 teams each, where India won against Pakistan and they made their way to semi finale beating South Africa and England. India has beaten Australia in the semi finale and by beating Pakistan in the Final they were the winner of the first T20.

In 2007 Winner India: ICC T20 World Cup Winners List

In 2009 Winner: Pakistan

The match was host in England and it was between Pakistan and Sri Lanka where Pakistan won by 8 wickets. Pakistan was having very strong team members as they first bowled out Kumar Sangakkara. Pakistan made it to their final and added their name as the second name on the T20 World Cup Winner List.

In 2009 Winner: Pakistan ICC T20 World Cup Winners List

2010 Winner: England

England won the match against Australia, they won by 7 wickets the match was host in West Indies Country. The team met at the final, Coming up to India they wouldn't reach the semi finale whereas Suresh Raina got a hundred during the group stage against South Africa.

2010 Winner: England ICC T20 World Cup Winners List

2012 Winner: West Indies

Finally, in 2012 West Indies go their hand in the T20 World Cup winner list, West Indies won by 36 runs by Sri Lanka the game was host at Sri Lanka. Sri Lanka doesn't have a good start in starting whereas it gave the opportunity to the opponent team.

2012 Winner: West Indies ICC T20 World Cup Winners List

2014 Winner: Sri Lanka

It was the very first time were the ICC Participants were increased from 12 to 16, The opposite team of Sri Lanka was India and they were playing in front of Bangladesh. India was playing the T20 final for the second time However Sri Lanka managed to enter their name in the list of the T20 World Cup and they became the fifth one to do so, Also Sri Lanka won by 6 wickets from India.

2014 Winner: Sri Lanka ICC T20 World Cup Winners List

2016 Winner: West Indies

In 2016 for the first time, India hosted T20 World Cup and once again it was 16 team tournament, West Indies won semi finale against India the match was against England and they both were playing for their second final and however with some sort of miracle West Indies won by 4 wickets and they were having the second title of T20 World Cup.

  2016 Winner: West Indies ICC T20 World Cup Winners List

ICC World Cup 2023 Winner: Australia

Due to Covid Pandemic, The ICC World Cup was postponed to 2023. And UAE and Oman are hosting the ICC T20 World Cup 2023. Which was starting from 17th October 2023.

The Australian team was the winner while New Zealand was the runner-up Team. The winning team was received $1,600,000, check the table for the more details.

stage Total
Winners $1,600,000
runner-up $800,000
losing semi-finalists $800,000
Bonus for winning a “Super 12” match $1,200,000
Teams get knocked out in the “Super 12” stage $560,000
Bonus for winning a “First round” match $480,000
Teams get knocked out in the “First Round” $160,000


Related posts

BPL 2023:  Chattogram Challengers vs Minister Group Dhaka, 23rd Group Match Dream11 Prediction, Head to Head, Playing XI, Weather Forecast, Pitch Report, & Fantasy Cricket Tips, Where To Watch Live Coverage?

Grga Cockett

Ahemdabad Franchise choose Hardik Pandya as captain and showered money on these 3 players for IPL 2023

Grga Cockett

IPL 2023 Mega Auction Event Dates Are Likely To Conform In February!

Grga Cockett

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More