US Open Winners List: Most Successful Men’s & Women’s Tennis Player?

With season 141 live in action right now, players will be aiming for the prestigious US Open title. Over the years, the US Open has seen many great legends grace the court and win the tournament. We look at the list of all the US Open winners since the Open era.

The US Open is the last of four Grand Slams held each year in August. The US Open Tennis Grand Slam concludes the sequence of the four major and prestigious tennis tournaments each year. The US Open is played on a hard court surface and the tournament is held every year at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center.

Women’s US Open Winners List

Year Winner Runner-up
1968 Virginia Wade Billie jean king
1969 Margaret Court Nancy richey
1970 Margaret Court Rosemary casals
1971 Billie jean king Rosemary casals
1972 Billie jean king Kerry melville
1973 Margaret Court Evonne goolagong
1974 Billie jean king Evonne goolagong
1975 Chris Evert Evonne goolagong
1976 Chris Evert Evonne Goolagong Cawley
1977 Chris Evert Wendy turnbull
1978 Chris Evert Pam Shriver
1979 Tracy austin Chris Evert
1980 Chris Evert Hana Mandlíková
1981 Tracy austin Martina Navratilova[g]
1982 Chris Evert Hana Mandlíková
1983 Martina Navratilova Chris Evert
1984 Martina Navratilova Chris Evert
1985 Hana Mandlíková Martina Navratilova
1986 Martina Navratilova Helena Suková
1987 Martina Navratilova Steffi graf
1988 Steffi graf Gabriela sabatini
1989 Steffi graf Martina Navratilova
1990 Gabriela sabatini Steffi graf
1991 Monica seles Martina Navratilova
1992 Monica seles Arantxa Sánchez Vicario
1993 Steffi graf Helena Suková
1994 Arantxa Sánchez Vicario Steffi graf
nineteen ninety five Steffi graf Monica seles
nineteen ninety six Steffi graf Monica seles
1997 Martina Hingis Venus williams
1998 Lindsay davenport Martina Hingis
1999 Serena Williams Martina Hingis
2000 Venus williams Lindsay davenport
2001 Venus williams Serena Williams
2002 Serena Williams Venus williams
2003 Justine henin Kim clijsters
2004 Svetlana Kuznetsova Elena Dementieva
2005 Kim clijsters Mary pierce
2006 Maria Sharapova Justine henin
2007 Justine henin Svetlana Kuznetsova
2008 Serena Williams Jelena Janković
2009 Kim clijsters Caroline wozniacki
2010 Kim clijsters Vera Zvonareva
2011 Samantha stosur Serena Williams
2012 Serena Williams Victoria Azarenka
2013 Serena Williams Victoria Azarenka
2014 Serena Williams Caroline wozniacki
2015. Flavia pennetta Roberta Vinci
2016 Angelique kerber Karolina Pliskova
2017 Sloane stephens Madison keys
2018 Naomi osaka Serena Williams
2019 Bianca Andreescu Serena Williams
2020 Naomi osaka Victoria Azarenka

Men’s US Open Winners List

Year Winner Runner-up
1968 Arthur Ashe Tom okker
1969 Rod Laver Tony roche
1970 Ken rosewall Tony roche
1971 Stan smith Jan Kodeš
1972 Ilie Nastase Arthur Ashe
1973 John newcombe Jan Kodeš
1974 Jimmy connors Ken rosewall
1975 Manuel Orantes Jimmy connors
1976 Jimmy connors Björn borg
1977 Guillermo Vilas Jimmy connors
1978 Jimmy connors Björn borg
1979 John mcenroe Vitas gerulaitis
1980 John mcenroe Björn borg
1981 John mcenroe Björn borg
1982 Jimmy connors Ivan lendl
1983 Jimmy connors Ivan lendl
1984 John mcenroe Ivan lendl
1985 Ivan lendl John mcenroe
1986 Ivan lendl Miloslav Mečíř
1987 Ivan lendl Mats Wilander
1988 Mats Wilander Ivan lendl
1989 Boris becker Ivan lendl
1990 Pete sampras Andre Agassi
1991 Stefan edberg Jim Courier
1992 Stefan edberg Pete sampras
1993 Pete sampras Cedric pioline
1994 Andre Agassi Michael Stich
nineteen ninety five Pete sampras Andre Agassi
nineteen ninety six Pete sampras Michael Chang
1997 Patrick Rafter Greg rusedski
1998 Patrick Rafter Mark Philippoussis
1999 Andre Agassi Todd martin
2000 Marat Safin Pete sampras
2001 Lleyton hewitt Pete sampras
2002 Pete sampras Andre Agassi
2003 Andy roddick Juan Carlos Ferrero placeholder image
2004 Roger Federer Lleyton hewitt
2005 Roger Federer Andre Agassi
2006 Roger Federer Andy roddick
2007 Roger Federer Novak Djokovic
2008 Roger Federer Andy murray
2009 Juan Martin del Potro Roger Federer
2010 Rafael Nadal Novak Djokovic
2011 Novak Djokovic Rafael Nadal
2012 Andy murray Novak Djokovic
2013 Rafael Nadal Novak Djokovic
2014 Marin Čilić Kei nishikori
2015. Novak Djokovic Roger Federer
2016 Stan wawrinka Novak Djokovic
2017 Rafael Nadal Kevin Anderson
2018 Novak Djokovic Juan Martin del Potro
2019 Rafael Nadal Daniil Medvedev
2020 Dominic Thiem Alexander Zverev

Who is the most successful tennis player at the US Open?

Chris Evert and Serena Williams are the most successful female players with six US Open titles to their name.

Jimmy Connors, Pete Sampras and Roger Federer have won five US Open titles, making the trio the most successful US Open male players overall.

Who has won the most consecutive titles?

Roger Federer is the player with the most consecutive titles, having won five consecutive US Open tournaments from 2004 to 2008.

Who are the defending US Open champions today?

Dominic Thiem is the defending male champion, while Naomi Osaka is the defending female champion after winning the 2020 US Open.

Related posts

Wimbledon 2023 Tennis Start Date, Tickets Booking Details, Participating Players, and more

Ashleigh Barty Net Worth: 2023 Wimbledon Winner’s Salary and Earnings

Grga Cockett

Carlos Alcaraz’s Winning Stats and Net Worth 2023

Naomi Tait

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More