The most special thing about Virender Sehwag was that he always used to give back to his bowlers. Two years after his retirement from international cricket, Viru has not left his old habit. The 37-year-old posted a picture on Tuesday of a match that was played today, 6 years back.
This was the match when Sri Lankan bowler Suraj Randiv intentionally over-stepped the line in order to stop Virender Sehwag from scoring a century. India needed just one run and Sehwag was on 99. Sehwag hit him for six on what was the last ball of the match. But he umpire called it a no-ball. As the rules say, if a team requires only one run and the bowler has bowled a no-ball, then the runs scored by the batsman. It turned out, Sehwag left the stadium still on 99.
It seems Sehwag has not forgotten the uncalled-for act from Randiv and he gave it back to him through a tweet.
6yrs ago on this day,Hewa Kaluhalamullage Suraj Randiv Kaluhalamulla did this,was hit fr a 6,but I remained 99notout pic.twitter.com/iwhOFdtQNL
— Virender Sehwag (@virendersehwag) August 16, 2016